Milestones

History of the Hong Kong Arts Centre
Established in 1977, the Hong Kong Arts Centre (HKAC) is a non-profit making, self financing arts organization which focuses on promoting contemporary arts and culture within and across the border, with facilities including theatres, a cinema, galleries, classrooms, studios, a café and office space. Over the past three decades, the Arts Centre has become one of the Hong Kong’s best known and respected art entities, providing a wide range of programmes featuring local and overseas artists. It is dedicated to serving as a unique platform to bridge art and the community.

In the late 1960s, the City Hall was the only venue for contemporary arts in Hong Kong and there was a serious lack of space for art and cultural activities. In 1968, several art associations and groups wrote to the Hong Kong Government to request the grant of a piece of land on which to build an arts centre. Mr. S. F. Bailey, the Secretary General of the University Grants Committee at that time, led the campaign. He officially obtained legal rights for the group in June 1971 and successfully acquired a piece of reclaimed land near Gloucester Road in Wan Chai from the government after years of negotiation. It was a time when anything seemed possible.

Afterwards, Mr. Bailey, together with the art associations, ran an extensive fund-raising campaign to generate money and interest in the idea of an arts centre, whilst simultaneously launching the actual construction. Unfortunately, only half of the required $28 million was raised. The construction ground to a halt and was not able to continue due to lack of funds. The establishment of the Hong Kong Arts Centre would not have been possible without the help of Hong Kong Governor, Sir. MacLehose, who eventually applied for loans using a government warrant. Dr. Choh-Ming Li, the first Vice-Chancellor of The Chinese University of Hong Kong, was the first Chairman of the Arts Centre, Sir. Run Run Shaw was the first Vice-chairman, and Mr. Neil Duncan was invited to Hong Kong from the UK as the first General Manager. The Hong Kong Arts Centre was inaugurated by the Governor on 14th October, 1977, and was a new phenomenon in that time. Thirty years on, the Hong Kong Arts Centre remains true to the original vision of its founders, and serves as a unique platform for nurturing artists and culture, and has become one of the flagships for the contemporary arts in Hong Kong .

Without the support and pivotal role of Dr. Tao Ho, Mr. Bill Bailey and Dr. Lo King Man, the Hong Kong Arts Centre would not have come into being. Dr. Tao Ho was responsible for designing the Arts Centre. Influenced by Bauhaus architectural style, he turned an area of 10,000 square feet into a 19-storey building, incorporating Eastern and Western concepts over a period of 5 years. The Centre won him a Silver Medal from the Hong Kong Institute of Architects in 1978. Mr. Bailey was Secretary of the University Grants Committee at that time and his benevolent support, and inspired vision and leadership triggered the development of local culture’s potentials. Dr. Lo King Man helped make the dream of building a unique arts centre possible.

Since the official opening in 1977, the two-storey Pao Galleries have exhibited the works of a lot of masters from both the East and the West. Exhibitions have always been the crucial element of the Arts Centre. In the run-up to 1997, when the sovereignty of Hong Kong was about to be handed over to China, the Arts Centre held a number of exhibitions and art festivals that explored local art, culture and history, arousing the concern of the public about local cultural identity in different art forms.

In 1984, the Arts Centre established an Education Department to promote art education in the community. Art courses included ceramics and digital art. The Hong Kong Arts Centre collaborated with the Royal Melbourne Institute of Technology to launch the first part-time Bachelor of Arts in Fine Art curriculum in 1998. The Hong Kong Art School, an extension arm of the Hong Kong Arts Centre, was established in 2000, and is an accredited institute run by a group of dedicated artists. The focus of its award-bearing curriculum lies in four core academic areas, namely, Fine Art, Applied Art, Media Art, and Drama Education. Its scope covers programmes with academic levels ranging from Foundation Diploma to Higher Diploma, Bachelor Degree to Master Degree. The short courses and the outreach projects of the School run parallel to the award-bearing curriculum and span an even wider variety of artistic disciplines. With its recent acquisition of a campus site in Shau Kei Wan), the School aims at further bridging art and the community.

Art education has always been a key aspect that the Centre places heavy emphasis on. In 2001, the Aesthetic Education Programme was founded by the Hong Kong Arts Centre's Art School, based on the model of aesthetic education that is practiced at the Lincoln Center Institute (LCI), New York. The Hong Kong Arts Centre and the Art School are working closely together with Aesthetic Education to bring art to primary and secondary schools. For the past few years, the HKAC has contributed significant administrative and financial support to help it grow, and in 2009, it became a co-work partner to promote art education to schools. It is the only institute practicing the aesthetic education model in the South East Asia region.

The Hong Kong Arts Centre has a strong belief that art has its own soothing and healing power. For more than a decade, the Centre has dedicated full financial, administrative and office rental support to a community project, Art in Hospitals (AIH). This project started in April 1994 and was later registered as a non-profit making charitable organization in 2003. The Arts Centre helps serve the community and the development of hospital art in Hong Kong.

Since 1995, the Hong Kong Arts Centre has been hosting the annual Hong Kong Independent Short Film and Video Awards (ifva) which has become one of the signature programmes of the Centre. ifva follows the mission of the Centre and has successfully proven to be the cradle of local and Asian creative filmic talents. It aims at developing and nurturing the next generation of moving images. In 1997, ifva set up the newly formed youth category, bringing video art to secondary and primary schools. ifva has now become a nurturing ground for new talent in the aspects of commercial and independent cinema, animation and interactive media.

Furthermore, as an additional benefit to the community, the Centre has always been a cradle for nurturing local artist. Mr. Jim Chim, a popular household name in Hong Kong, once remarked “My artistic life was born and developed here at the Arts Centre.” In 2004, the Hong Kong Arts Centre collaborated with the Theatre Ensemble to run an innovative artistic concept “PIP”(Pleasure In Play), conducting drama workshops with “fun” and “educational” aspects, sharing with the community the essential * joy of the arts .

“Interaction” and “boundary crossing” are the keys to incorporating art into the community, and public Art plays a vital role in this. In 2005, Public Art Hong Kong (PAHK) was established as a non-profit making organization funded by the Y.K.Pao Foundation with the Hong Kong Arts Centre as its executing organization, actively presenting various art pieces in the city, creating an interactive relationship between the artwork, the site and the audience. It intends to promote public art and reflect public interest while featuring Hong Kong as a vibrant cultural city.

Another breakthrough between the boundaries of performers and audiences is the Street Music series which attracts both art and non art-lovers to explore different art forms. This project succeeds in promoting non-mainstream music as a medium of interaction with the local community, and uses public space as a new platform for live music performance in dynamic styles, ranging from alternative pop, to improvisation, experimental and classical music. This music programme has had a cluster effect, allowing more outreach to local music groups and programmes in the community. The Street Music Series started its monthly series of concerts with its debut performance on 15th May 2009. Its events are free to the public.


Important Developments

1971

1971
HKAC successfully acquired a piece of reclaimed land near Gloucester Road in Wan Chai from the Government

1977

1977
HKAC was registered as a non-profit, self-financing arts organization

1978

1978
Mr. Tao Ho won the Silver Medal awarded by the Hong Kong Institute of Architects with the design of the HKAC building

1984

1984
HKAC established its Education Department which offered courses on arts and culture, including ceramics and computer arts

1988

1988
The Recital Hall of HKAC was reconstructed as the first Agnès b CINEMA! in Hong Kong

1991

1991
The first issue of ArtsLink, a monthly magazine published by HKAC, was released in May

1994

1994
Hong Kong Arts Centre started to develop hospital art in Hong Kong by dedicating full financial, administrative and office rental support to the Art in Hospital (AIH), and was later registered as a non-profit charitable organization since 2003.

1995

1995
HKAC started hosting the Hong Kong Independent Short Film and Video Awards (ifva)

1998

1998
The Education Department of HKAC launched Hong Kong’s first part-time degree programme on fine art, in collaboration with RMIT University of Australia

2000

2000
The Education Department of HKAC was officially upgraded to the Hong Kong Art School (HKAS) in January

2001

2001
The Aesthetic Education Programme was founded by the Art School of Hong Kong Arts Centre, based on the model of aesthetic education practiced at the Lincoln Center Institute (LCI), New York.

2004

2004
Hong Kong Arts Centre collaborated with the Theatre Ensemble for running an innovative artistic concept “PIP”(Pleasure In Play)

2005

2005
HKAC became the executing organization of Public Art Hong Kong (PAHK)

2007

2007
30th Anniversary of the HKAC and a “30th Anniversary Exhibition” was held in August 2008

2009

2009
HKAC and Aesthetic Education become co-work partner to promote art education in schools. With the Government’s Land Grant/ Vacant School Premises Scheme, HKAS acquired a new school site in Shau Kei Wan. The new school started its operation in July.


 

Keep a Close Link with us!
       
Subscribe our e-newsletter
2 Harbour Road, Wan Chai, Hong Kong
(852) 2582 0200
About
Overview
Vision & Mission
Creative Hub
Milestones
Awards
The People
Job Openings
Publication
Annual Reports
Tenants
Visit
Map and Location
Guided Tour
Eat, Drink & Shop
HKAC Art Shop
What’s On
Current
Upcoming Events
Exhibitions
Moving Images
Performing Arts
Public Art
Others
Support
Donations
Artworks
Acknowledgements
Venue Hire
Galleries
Theatres
Atrium
Ticketing
Buy Ticket
Online Registration
Press
Press Releases
Press Photos
Press Enquiries
© 2017, Hong Kong Arts Centre. All Rights Reserved.

里程碑

香港藝術中心的歷史
香港藝術中心成立於1977年,屬自負盈虧及非牟利的藝術機構,以推廣本地及海外的當代藝術及文化為宗旨。中心設有劇場、電影院、展覽廳、教室、工作室、咖啡店以及辦公室。在過去30多年,藝術中心已成為本地最為人熟識及重視的獨立藝術平台,為香港市民提供來自本地及外地藝術家的多元藝術節目,致力將藝術連繫至社區。

60年代後期,藝術及文化活動場地嚴重不足,香港大會堂成為當時唯一展現現代藝術的場館。於1968年,一些藝術團體致函政府申請批出用地作興建一所藝術中心之用。在這個沒有不可能的年代,大學資助委員會秘書長白懿禮先生主導計劃,經歷多年磋商,團體終於1971年6月正式取得合法資格,並成功獲得位於灣仔告士打道的填海土地。一切都變得可能。

隨後,白懿禮先生與一眾藝術夥伴籌劃大規模活動,目的為籌募經費及引起各界關注創建藝術中心的構思;與此同時,中心開始展開動工興建計劃,但由於活動只籌得所需2,800萬元資金的一半,施工進度被迫暫停。如果沒有了港督麥理浩爵士的協助,香港藝術中心的創立是不可能成事的。麥理浩爵士以政府名義作借貸擔保,以香港中文大學創校校長李卓敏博士作為香港藝術中心第一屆主席,而副主席為邵逸夫爵士;首任總經理則由從英國聘請的鄧禮勤先生擔任。1977年10月14日,香港藝術中心正式成立,由港督揭幕,為當時藝術文化展開一番新氣象。三十多年來,香港藝術中心這個獨特平台秉承創辦人的宗旨,努力培育文化及藝術人才,成為展現香港當代藝術的旗艦及重大標誌之一。

沒有了何弢博士、白懿禮先生及盧景文博士的領導支持,香港藝術中心亦沒有今日的成就。何弢博士負責中心的整個項目的設計,他受包浩斯建築風格的影響,用了五年時間,煣合中西概念,將佔地僅1萬平方英呎的土地建構為一座樓高十九層的建築藝術作品。何弢博士更以藝術中心的設計獲得香港建築師學會頒發的銀獎殊榮。在當時任大學資助委員會秘書長的白懿禮先生的領導及慷慨支持下,藝術中心得以成形,並觸動本土文化發展的潛力;還有盧景文博士,他的堅持令這座藝術中心的理想構思成為可能。

展覽一直是藝術中心的重要活動之一。由1977年正式揭幕開始至今,佔地兩層的包氏畫廊已大量展出來自東西方的大師作品。趨近1997年,香港即將回歸袓國,藝術中心在當時舉辦了多個展覽及藝術活動,探索本地藝術、文化及歷史,以不同的藝術形式喚起大眾對文化認同的關心。

1984年,藝術中心設立教育部門以推廣藝術教育至社區,當時提供的課程包括陶藝及數碼藝術等課程。1998年香港藝術中心與墨爾本皇家理工大學合作,開辦第一個兼讀制藝術學士課程。香港藝術學院終在2000年成立,並直屬於香港藝術中心,由一眾擁有卓越成就的藝術家及藝術工作者負責營運。其開辦的學歷頒受課程主要由四個學術範疇組成,包括藝術、應用藝術,媒體藝術及戲劇教育;學歷頒受等級分別有基礎文憑、高級文憑、學士學位及碩士學位。此外,學院亦舉辦短期課程及其他外展活動,大大擴闊了藝術課程的涵蓋範圍。學院最近更獲教育局批出筲箕灣空置校舍,並以此作為新院社,藉此進一步推動藝術在社區的發展。

藝術教育長久以來都是中心關注的關鍵項目。2001年,香港藝術中心轄下的藝術學院以紐約林肯中心實踐的美感教育模式為基礎,開展美感教育計劃。中心與學院及美感教育協會緊密合作,把美感教育引入中小學校。過去幾年,中心一直在行政及財政上全力支持。2009年,中心與他們更成為合作伙伴,致力推廣藝術教育到校園。美感教育協會更是東南亞地區唯一實踐美感教育的機構。

此外,香港藝術中心亦堅信藝術有療效的功用及能力。十多年來,中心一直在財務、行政及租借辦公室方面致力贊助「藝術在醫院」計劃。此計劃於1994年4月開始,其後於2003年註冊成為非牟利慈善機構,中心通過全力支持「藝術在醫院」計劃服務社會,幫助推廣藝術至不同層面。

而自1995年起開始,每年一度的香港獨立短片及錄像比賽已成為藝術中心的重要項目之一。ifva 承及確立了藝術中心作為本土及亞洲創意影像搖籃的使命,旨在發展及培育移動影像至新世代。1997年,ifva新增青少年組別,把錄像藝術帶進中小學。而此比賽活動更成為新人培植場,在商業及獨立電影、動畫及互動媒體界別中扮演著重要的角色。

藝術中心一直是培育藝術家的搖籃。香港廣受大眾喜愛的人物之一,詹瑞文先生亦說過:「我的藝術生命可以說是源於藝術中心,亦拓展於藝術中心。」2004年,香港藝術中心與劇場組合共同協作營運〝快樂共和〞(Pleasure In Play),以創新的藝術概念舉辦教育及趣味兼重的戲劇工作坊,與社會共享藝術帶來的喜悅。

「跨越邊界」及「互動」是把藝術融入社區的關鍵,而公共藝術扮演著重要的領導角色。2005年,【香港公共藝術】創立, 並以非牟利的模式營運,由Sir Y.K.Pao Foundation撥款,香港藝術中心作為執行機構,推動本地之公共藝術發展,致力加強藝術、空間和公眾之間的互動性,同時亦著力締造香港成為富有文化色彩的動感都會。

開放音樂系列則是另一個打破表演者與觀眾之間界限的項目,其互動的表現方式吸引不同的群眾去接觸另一類藝術形式。開放音樂系列成功以非主流音樂為互動媒介切入社區,又以公共空間相互交流的開放形式作為新的音樂表演平台。音樂類形由另類流行音樂、即興音樂、實驗性的現代音樂及古典音樂等等。開放音樂自2009年5月15日首演後每月均定期舉辦予觀眾免費欣賞,廣受市民大眾歡迎。


Important Developments

1971

1971
香港藝術中心正式成為法定機構

1977

1977
香港藝術中心獲批灣仔地皮作發展用途

1978

1978
香港藝術中心的設計為何弢先生贏得香港建築師學會銀牌獎

1984

1984
藝術中心成立教育部,推出不同的藝術課程,包括陶藝和電腦藝術

1988

1988
香港藝術中心演奏廳正式改建成為當時全港第一家藝術電影院—Agnès b. 電影院

1991

1991
月刊「藝訊」於5月誕生

1994

1994
中心開始在財務、行政及租借辦公室方面致力贊助「藝術在醫院」計劃。此計劃其後於2003年註冊成為非牟利慈善機構。

1995

1995
香港藝術中心成為香港獨立短片錄像比賽(ifva)主辦單位

1998

1998
香港藝術中心教育部與澳洲RMIT大學合作,開辦香港第一個兼讀藝術學位課程

2000

2000
香港藝術中心教育部升格為香港藝術學院

2001

2001
香港藝術中心轄下的藝術學院以紐約林肯中心實踐的美感教育模式為基礎,開展美感教育計劃。

2004

2004
香港藝術中心與劇場組合共同協作營運創新的藝術概念"快樂共和"(Pleasure In Play)

2005

2005
香港藝術中心成為【香港公共藝術】的執行機構

2007

2007
香港藝術中心三十周年,並於翌年舉辦「藝術中心三十周年展」

2009

2009
藝術學院獲教育局批出筲箕灣空置校舍; 新校舍於七月正式開始運作


 

緊貼我們的最新資訊!
       
收取我們的電子通訊
香港灣仔港灣道2號
(852) 2582 0200
關於我們
概覽
願景與使命
Creative Hub
里程碑
獎項
成員
職位空缺
出版刊物
周年報告
租戶
訪客資訊
地圖
導賞團
餐飲及商店
香港藝術中心商店
節目一覽
即日放送
最新節目
展覽
移動映像
表演藝術
公共藝術
其它
支持我們
捐助
藝術收藏品
鳴謝
場地租用
畫廊
劇院
外堂
購票及網上登記
購票
網上登記
傳媒
新聞發佈
新聞圖片
傳媒查詢
© 2017, Hong Kong Arts Centre. All Rights Reserved.